Program Committees

Our APTA program committees work within the school to support the student and teacher experience. Committees are always looking for volunteers. If you are interested in learning more, please contact  the committee chair or Leslie McClure (lesmcclure123@gmail.com), or VP of Programs.

 Anchorage Parent Academy

Provides parent programs based upon family interests and emerging priorities within the school. Andrea Donan (adonan@donan.com)

Art Discovery

Supports art in the classroom by teaching students about artists and their histories. Lisa Carpenter (llgcarp@gmail.com) Hilary Wise (hilary.wise@twc.com)

Art Show

Organizes annual celebration and display of students’ art portfolios. Jessie Broughton, Tiffany Percent, Stephanie Cronan

Book Fair

Helps with coordination and setup of the annual book fair event.  Preethi Ananthakrishnan (Preethia@gmail.com)

Field Day

Fun and games for our K-5th graders after a hard year of academic work! Rip Philips (rip@ripphillips.com) Sandra Masters (sandramasters@twc.com)

Junior Great Books

Facilitates classroom reading program that promotes critical thinking. Stephanie Liford (stephanie.liford@anchorage.kyschools.us) 

Hospitality

Plans, prepares and provides amazing lunches, treats and refreshments for various APTA school functions. Melanie Galloway (Melanie@gwaygroup.com), Jenny Tatum(jtatum68@gmail.com), Sandra Masters (sandramasters@twc.com)

Library Volunteers                                                                                                                     

Assists in keeping our library running efficiently. Cara Martin (caramartin@twc.com) Robin Nyland (rbnyland@twc.com)

Ambassadors/ Newcomers

Welcomes our new families to Anchorage. Dawn Hundley (dmhundley76@gmail.com) Michelle Arnold (michellearnold1@icloud.com) Sandra Masters (sandramasters@twc.com)

Health Screenings

Helps organize students for vision, hearing, and scoliosis health screenings. Tami Ecken (aidtami@gmail.com)

Community Connections

Organizes service opportunities to help Louisville communities in need. Nancy Lynn Walters (nancylynnewalters@gmail.com) Catherine Werner (catherine@jcwerner.net)

Teacher/Staff Appreciation

Reinforces our appreciation for teachers and staff by providing treats, lunches, and small gifts throughout the year and during May “Appreciation Week.” Aimee Cherry (aimeejon.cherry@me.com) Hollie Swisher (kswish42@aol.com)

Nutrition Committee

Facilitates programs to reinforce good, healthy habits in our children by offering more nutritious food options and good exercise programs. Jeff Ellison (goteamellison@gmail.com)

Recycling

Implements and maintains Anchorage School’s recycling program. Tracey Adams (tntadamsky@gmail.com)